License Recovery

Virginia ignition interlock laws require that any driver convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) must install an ignition interlock device on his or her primary vehicle. If this is your second or subsequent offense within 10 years, you will need to have an ignition interlock device installed on every vehicle you own or which is registered to you.

You cannot drive with or without an interlock until you have been issued a restricted license. However, if you enroll in VASAP (Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program) before your court date, you can prequalify for an interlock installation. While you cannot have the device installed until you’ve been issued a restricted license, prequalifying should help reduce the wait before you get your interlock installed, so you’re on the road sooner.

Steps to Obtaining a Restricted Driver’s License During Your Suspension:

  • Complete an application for Restricted Driver’s License (Form DC-263).
  • If you are convicted of a DUI, you must report to a Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP) to being the process of having your license reinstated.
  • Enroll in education programs and/or treatment programs as required.
  • VASAP will provide you with a list of Ignition Interlock vendors. You must choose one within 48 hours. Notify the VASAP office of your choice of vendor. Your VASAP case manager will send an authorization form to the vendor.
  • Contact the interlock provider to make an installation appointment. Have the ignition interlock installed at a service location.
  • Submit proof of installation to VASAP supervisor. VASAP will notify DMV that the interlock has been installed.
  • Obtain SR22 or FR44 (Certification of Insurance) from an insurance company licensed to do business in Virginia.
  • Pay all fees and fines.
  • At DMV, provide court order allowing restricted driving privileges and all other required documentation.
  • Once you have your restricted license, you must come in to your interlock service provider for regular monitoring. This is essential for proper maintenance of the program as well as a condition for keeping your restricted license.
800-499-0994