Tennessee

tennesseeTennessee State Law

Tennessee DUI cases are unique, since there is no pre-trial administrative driver’s license suspension, as there is in many other states. The only driver’s license consequences are the ones imposed by the court.

Tennessee ignition interlocks are court-ordered even for first time DUI offenders. After serving a period of license suspension or revocation, offenders may be allowed to drive while using the device. After serving twelve months of the revocation period, a second time DUI offender may apply for a restricted license. After two DUIs, offenders do not qualify for restricted licenses, which allow individuals to drive while using an interlock device.

The offender must have the IID serviced by the service provider at least semi-annually. The offender must provide the court with proof of IID installation and proof of periodic maintenance. The offender is responsible for obtaining the documentation from the service provider.

License Revocation, Fines and Jail

  • First Offense – Misdemeanor: $350 to $1,500 in fines, minimum 48 consecutive hours up to 11 months and 29 days in jail (public service possible in lieu of jail time for all but the mandatory minimum period required), 1 year license revocation (can apply for an ignition interlock restricted license), 24 hours of litter removal on public roadways and property, attendance at DUI school, and drug and alcohol assessment and/or treatment. Possible ignition interlock restriction for up to 1 year upon license reinstatement
  • Second Offense – Misdemeanor:  $600 to $3,500 fine, minimum 45 days up to 11 months and 29 days in jail (public service possible in lieu of jail time for all but the mandatory minimum period required), 2 years license revocation (may be eligible for an ignition interlock restricted license after 1 year revocation period has expired), attendance at DUI school, and drug and alcohol assessment and/or treatment. Possible ignition interlock restriction for 1 year upon license reinstatement and possible seizure / forfeiture of vehicle.
  • Third Offense – Misdemeanor:  $1,100 to $10,000 fine, minimum 120 days up to 11 months and 29 days in jail (public service possible in lieu of jail time for all but the mandatory minimum period required), 6 years license revocation, attendance at DUI School, and drug and alcohol assessment and/or treatment. Possible ignition interlock restriction for up to 1 year upon license reinstatement and possible seizure / forfeiture of vehicle.
  • Fourth and Subsequent Offense – Felony: $3,000 to $15,000 fine, minimum 150 days up to 6 years in jail, 8 years license revocation, attendance at DUI school, and drug and alcohol assessment and/or treatment. Possible ignition interlock restriction for up to 1 year upon license reinstatement and possible seizure / forfeiture of vehicle.

Need an Ignition Interlock in Tennessee? Start with Guardian Interlock®

Guardian Interlock offers complete installation and monitoring of an ignition interlock device on a wide range of vehicles to help you maintain compliance with Tennessee driving restrictions.

  • Most affordable interlock solution
  • Accurate technology – no false positives
  • Expert technicians to help you every step of the way
  • Direct communication with the state monitoring authorities to reduce hassles and keep you in compliance with state reporting requirements
  • 24/7/365 customer service, so you’ve always got the support you need

Get Started now. Find a Guardian Interlock installer or call toll-free 800-499-0994

800-499-0994