Mississippi License Recovery

The Mississippi Department of Public Safety (DPS) offers restricted/hardship licenses to eligible applicants who need to drive to work while their regular licenses are suspended or revoked. You may be eligible for a special restricted driver license.

Steps to Obtaining a Restricted/Hardship Driver’s License During Your Suspension: 

  • Serve mandatory suspension time (required period before interlock may be installed).
  • Attend the Mississippi Alcohol Education Program (MASEP).
  • Receive Suspension Letter from the Mississippi Department of Public Safety.
  • Get a copy of your Motor Vehicle Report (MVR).
  • Provide proof of your hardship (employment, education or medical).
  • Provide proof of SR-22 Insurance.
  • File Petition for Hardship License.
  • Pay all fees and fines.
  • Call an authorized ignition interlock provider and make an appointment to have an ignition interlock installed.
  • Once you have received your limited license, bring your vehicle in for a monitoring appointment every 30 days to stay in compliance.

Steps to Reinstate Your Driver’s License After Suspension:

The requirements to reinstate your suspended license vary depending on the circumstances of your suspension. To reinstate your license, you may need to:

  • Complete jail time and suspension period.
  • Complete an alcohol safety education program, if applicable.
  • Satisfy any court requirements and pay any fines.
  • Call an authorized ignition interlock provider and make an appointment to have an ignition interlock installed.
  • Once you have received your license, bring your vehicle in for a monitoring appointment every 30 days to stay in compliance.
  • If necessary, you can mail a copy of your court abstract to:

MDPS
Attn: Driver Records
1900 E. Woodrow Wilson
Jackson, MS 39216

The Mississippi Department of Public Safety will mail you a clearance letter when you’ve satisfied your reinstatement requirements.

800-499-0994