Connecticut

connecticutConnecticut State Law

Connecticut has two sets of procedures that you must attend to when you have been charged with a DUI—administrative and judicial. We suggest that you consult with a DUI attorney immediately to make sure you get the best advice for your particular situation as laws are always changing.

Administrative License Revocation (ALR) Procedures
Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
Connecticut is one of 42 states that has implemented ALR which means that your license will be confiscated immediately if your BAC is above .08 OR if you refuse a BAC test. Your license will either be suspended or revoked at that point, even though you have not been officially convicted in a criminal trial. In fact, you can be charged with an administrative license suspension even if you are not later charged with a driving under the influence offense. This action was designed to be in addition to and separate from the traditional DUI judicial conviction penalties such as license suspension, jail time, community service hours, ignition interlock device (IID), and alcohol and drug rehabilitation.

You will be given a 7 day grace period during which you can drive under a temporary driving permit issued by the officer at the scene. During that time, you can request a hearing to challenge this case. This case will be heard by an administrative law judge. If you do not request a hearing, your license will be automatically suspended on the 8th day for 3 months, although first time offenders can request a work permit after 30 days. After the suspension period, you will be required to get an ignition interlock device.

Remember that this is a separate case from the judicial case, with separate authorities and separate rulings. This can be a very important influence upon the judicial procedures, but you must act very quickly if you wish to challenge this.

Judicial Procedures
In Connecticut, the drunk driving law prohibits a person from driving when they have a BAC of .08% or higher. Courts are required to order the installation and monitoring of an interlock device for any driver whose BAC levels are .08% or higher, even for the first offense.

License Revocation, Fines and Jail

  • First Offense – Misdemeanor: $500 to $1,000 fine, up to 6 months in jail (48 hours minimum mandatory) [jail time may be suspended in lieu of probation with 100 hours community service], 45 days license suspension, 1 year ignition interlock restriction upon license re-instatement on any vehicle offender owns or operates, must complete a DMV-approved substance abuse treatment program before full license will be restored, possible participation in a victim impact panel program, vehicle impounded for 48 hours.
  • Second Offense – Misdemeanor: $1,000 to $4,000 fine, up to 2 years in jail (120 days minimum mandatory), 45 days license suspension, 3 years ignition interlock restriction upon license re-instatement on any vehicle offender has or operates (2 years if offender is under 21 years of age), probation with 100 hours mandatory community service, must complete a DMV-approved substance abuse treatment program before full license will be restored, possible participation in a victim impact panel program, vehicle impounded for 48 hours.
  • Third and Subsequent Offense – Misdemeanor: $2,000 to $8,000 fine, up to 3 years in jail (1 year minimum mandatory), permanent license revocation (may request hearing after 6 years in order to reinstate license). If license is reinstated after 6 years the offender must only operate vehicles installed with an IID ignition interlock device for a period of 10 years from the date license was re-instated. Probation with 100 hours mandatory community service, must complete a DMV-approved substance abuse treatment program before full license will be restored, possible participation in a victim impact panel program, vehicle impounded for 48 hours.
800-499-0994