How Does A Sleeping Man Get Charged With A Connecticut DUI?

Connecticut DUINot everyone who’s about to be charged for a Connecticut DUI makes the decision to flee the scene, but one man in Manchester didn’t just flee, he took it one step further.

The man was driving with his car alarm sounding, and he caught the attention of the police when he was speeding through an intersection. The officer thought he might be driving a stolen car, and when he attempted to stop the vehicle the suspected drunk driver drove over some grass, hit a fence, and ran off.

When police approached the vehicle, no one was inside. They searched the area and found the driver, but he ran inside his home. Police located him again and found him, much to their surprise, hiding under the covers of his bed. When they asked him what he was doing, he said he was just sleeping.

Turns out, the “sleeping offender” was actually drunk. He ran away from police because he didn’t want to get caught driving drunk. Another surprising twist to the story? He had a ignition interlock in his vehicle, and the alarm the police heard blaring was going off because he failed to blow into the device when required to.

He failed field sobriety tests, refused to submit to a breathalyzer, and was charged with a Connecticut DUI. Considering he had an ignition interlock in his car, this probably wasn’t his first DUI either.

A repeat offender charged with a Connecticut DUI can spend up to six months in jail and pay up to $1,000 in fines. That offender will also be required to use an ignition interlock for three years. That would be extra time on  top of the time he was already required to use an interlock.

The moral of this story: when you’re being chased by police, no one is going to buy that you were just sleeping. And if you have an ignition interlock in your car, you fail to provide a breath sample, and your interlock alarm goes off, someone is definitely going to notice.

Beer T-Shirt Wearing Drunk Driver Crashes Into Graveyard.

drunk driver mug shotDrunk drivers can get themselves into some unique situations. From Florida drunk drivers who are arrested in nothing more than a bikini to a Pennsylvania drunk driver who was picked up wearing a ‘Drunk Lives Matter’ t-shirt on St.Patrick’s Day, there’s as many crazy stories as there are people involved in a drunk driving crash.

Now a Connecticut man has a story to tell when it comes to his own crazy drunk driving crash. He was recently picked up by police after a crash, and although that’s nothing new for police, what he was unique was what he was wearing and where he crashed his car.

With his t-shirt proudly announcing that someone should “Hold My Beer And Watch This,” the 25-year-old man crashed his car into a graveyard’s stone wall. Police soon realized he was drunk and arrested him for operating under the influence (OUI) and other charges.

In Connecticut, that OUI charge will net the offender some significant penalties. A first-time offender will receive an immediate 45-day driver’s license suspension, and he or she must install an ignition interlock device in any vehicle they drive. That interlock has to be used for a minimum of one year.

In addition to suffering through the penalties, the man has had to endure the fact that his mug shot has become a widely shared image on social media. That was thanks to a share by Connecticut police.

It just goes to show: if you’re going to drink and drive and do so while wearing a very ironic T-shirt, you’re going to have to be ready to pay the price. In this case, the viral photo and what must have been a terrifying crash into a graveyard would probably be enough to make sure this offender never drinks and drives or is the star of his own crazy drunk driving crash again.

This Might Be The Summer Of The Ignition Interlock

summer-igntiion-interlockIgnition interlock laws are sweeping the United States this summer, and there are good reasons why. Ignition interlocks are supported by organizations like Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) and have been found to reduce the likelihood a drunk driver will drive intoxicated again by 67%.

There are 21 states with all offender ignition laws, and that number could increase by the end of the year. In the meantime, there are a lot of new ignition interlock laws coming into effect this summer.

Texas

Texas driving while intoxicated (DWI) laws have been harsh, but as far as penalties go, ignition interlock devices were never really part of the big picture. Now anyone convicted of DWI in Texas with a blood alcohol content less than .15 has the option to install an ignition interlock instead of losing their driver’s license. Prior to the new law, those drivers wouldn’t have been able to drive to work, school, or transport their families.

Connecticut

Connecticut already has an all offender ignition interlock law on record, but July 1st was the day Connecticut closed off loopholes that let offenders avoid their ignition interlocks. Now all DUI offenders, including those people who were ordered to participate in an approved alcohol education program, must install ignition interlock device in their vehicles. The length of time the device will be required depends on whether the driver was over the age of 21, if they are a repeat offender, and if they refused or failed a blood alcohol test.

DMV officials said the length of time drivers are required to use the device depends on whether they are over the age of 21, whether they are a repeat offender and whether they failed or refused a blood alcohol test.

The roads in the United States are getting safer and safer as more ignition interlock laws are phased in. Let’s hope by 2016 more states have passed new and improved ignition interlock laws.

Pushing Toward Better Ignition Interlock Laws Across The USA

ignition interlockIt’s hard to believe Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) has been working on their Campaign to Eliminate Drunk Driving since 2006, and they’ve made so much progress in requiring states to pass all-offender ignition interlock laws. From only one state requiring interlocks in 2006 to 24 states in 2014, they’ve reduced drunk driving deaths by 24% overall.

This past week, Connecticut government officials took part in a bill-signing ceremony to ratify a law requiring ignition interlocks for all first time driving under the influence (DUI) offenders. Beginning on July 1st, 2015, the new law will give the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMW) the power to administratively require the installation of the devices on all vehicles of first time DUI offenders.

Connecticut joins Alabama, New Hampshire, Delaware, and Mississippi in signing all-offender interlock bills in 2014, and there are currently 4 states working to pass similar bills. Other states focused on closing any loopholes and improving interlock laws. Take South Carolina for example – the recent passing of Emma’s Law requires ignition interlocks for all repeat drunk driving offenders and any offender who drives with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .15 or more. As MADD has stated, South Carolina has one of the worst drunk driving records in the USA, and passing Emma’s Law is an important step in reducing drunk driving fatalities.

Florida is another state with recently improved interlock laws. Instead of vehicle impoundment, judges in the state can now order an ignition interlock installation for first-time DUI offenders who have a BAC of .08 to .14. They’ve also appointed a legislative study committee to consider an all-offender interlock law.

Although it’s clear significant improvements have been made since 2006, MADD will continue to push for better DUI laws, and they’ll continue asking more states to pass all-offender ignition interlock legislation in an effort to keep roads safe for everyone.

Text While Driving? A Ticket Is The Least Of Your Worries

Text While DrivingIt’s so tempting to pick up the phone when you’re driving. When it’s ringing or your alerts are beeping, what’s on the road in front of you seems to be less important than finding out who is trying to get in touch with you. But having your cell phone in your hand and choosing to text while driving means you aren’t paying attention to the road, and if you’re caught texting while driving in Connecticut law enforcement are ready, willing, and able to give you a ticket.

A new distracted driving campaign crackdown called “Phone in One Hand, Ticket in the Other” has begun in Connecticut, and within the first hour of setting up a checkpoint, law enforcement pulled over a dozen people and cited them for distracted driving.

But receiving a ticket should be the least of your worries if you choose to text while driving. One of the reasons you’re seeing an increase in law enforcement ticketing drivers who use cell phone is that distracted driving has serious consequences, not just for you but for the people on the road with you. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration has statistics that show over 420,000 people were hurt in distracted driving crashes in 2012, and distraction is a key factor in over 4 million crashes in North America every year.

Although adults fall into the category of distracted drivers, teens are the category of drivers who are most likely to text while driving, and they’re dying because of it. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration found that 45% of the 2000 teens involved in distracted driving crashes in 2011 were killed.

The summer roads are busier than ever, and that means hundreds of distracted drivers could be talking or texting as you drive down the highway with them. Law enforcement across the country is working to keep you safe by cracking down on cell phone use while driving, and you can help by putting your phone safely away before getting behind the wheel.

800-499-0994